…and I told Joseph, I t…

…and I told Joseph, I told and told, fighting is bad, leave off these wild ideas; but then he stops talking with me, and starts hanging about with dangerous types, and there are rumours starting up about him, Father, how he’s throwing bricks at big cars apparently, and burning bottles also, he’s going crazy, Father, they say he helps to burn buses and blow up trams, and I don’t know what. What to do, Father, I tell my sister about it all. My sister Alice, a good girl really, Father. I said “That Joe, he lives near a slaughterhouse, maybe that’s the smell that got into his nose and muddled him up.”

Salman Rushdie, Midnight’s Children

Leave a Reply

